skip to main content

Infection, Immunity and Inflammation


III Focus Area

Infection, Immunity and Inflammation – III

Research related to infection and subsequent host response; innate and adaptive immunity; inflammatory responses; genetic evaluation of virulence that affect colonization of tissues and systems; disease pathologies related to inflammation and immune dysfunction; e.g., diabetes, neurodegenerative disease; mesenchymal stem cells differentiation for immune function and wound healing.

Faculty

Helene Andrews-Polymenis

Helene Andrews-Polymenis, DVM, PhD

handrews@tamu.edu | 979.436.0340 | Office: MREB, 3008

Research Interest

Salmonella Infection

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Carolyn L. Cannon

Carolyn Cannon, MD, PhD

carolyn.cannon@tamu.edu | 832.822.3300 | Office: MREB-II, 3342

Research Interest

Novel antimicrobials, MDR bacterial infections, cystic fibrosis, host-pathogen interactions

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Sanjukta Chakraborty

Sanjukta Chakraborty, PhD

schakraborty@tamu.edu | 979.436.0697 | Office: MREB-II, 2416

Research Interest

Lymphatic inflammation, chemokine interactions, immune suppression, signaling pathways

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jeffrey D. Cirillo

Jeffrey Cirillo, PhD

jdcirillo@tamu.edu | 979.436.0343 | Office: MREB-II, 3350

Research Interest

Molecular pathogenesis, therapeutics, vaccines and diagnostics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Anatoliy Gashev

Anatoliy Gashev, MD, PhD, DMSc

gashev@tamu.edu | 979.450.0796 | Office: MREB-II

Research Interest

Mast cells

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Shannon Glaser

Shannon Glaser, PhD

sglaser@tamu.edu | 979.436.9260 | Office: MREB-II, 2342

Research Interest

Inflammation during chronic liver diseases, cholestasis, alcohol induced liver damage

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Michelle Hook

Michelle Hook, PhD

michellehook@tamu.edu | 979.436.0568

Research Interest

Recovery of function following a spinal cord injury (SCI)

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

David Huston

David Huston, MD

dhuston@tamu.edu| 713.677.8110 | Office: ALKEK 1111

Research Interest

The biology of allergic inflammation with emphasis on the structure/ function of IL3, IL5, and GMCSF

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jenny Hyde

Jenny Hyde, PhD

jhyde@tamu.edu | 979.436.0872 | Office: MREB, 3002

Research Interest

Pathogenic mechanisms of Borrelia burgdorferi for infection and inflammation

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jason Karpac

Jason Karpac, PhD

karpac@tamu.edu | 979.436.0767 | Office: MREB-II, 4342

Research Interest

Exploring innate immune-metabolic signaling network integration using Drosophila

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Julian Leibowitz, MD, PhD

Julian Leibowitz, MD, PhD

jleibowitz@tamu.edu | 979.436.0313 | Office: MREB-II, 3224C

Research Interest

Coronavirus pathogenesis

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Fei Liu

Fei Liu, PhD

fliu@tamu.edu | 979.436.9642 | Office: REYNOLDS, 242B

Research Interest

Treatment of autoimmune diseases with mesenchymal stem cell extracellular vesicles

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Alistair McGregor

Alistair McGregor, PhD

mcgalistair2013@tamu.edu| 979.436.9400 | Office: MREB-II, 3348

Research Interest

Innate & adaptive immunity to cytomegalovirus (CMV). Virus virulence factors and interventions for cmv

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Cynthia Meininger

Cynthia Meininger, PhD

cjm@tamu.edu | (979) 436-9263 | Office: MREB-II, 3418

Research Interest

Chronic inflammation in disease, wound healing, immunophysiology

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Brett Mitchell

Brett Mitchell, PhD

brettmitchell@tamu.edu | 979.436.0751 | Office: MREB-II, 2412

Research Interest

Immunity and inflammation in hypertension

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Mariappan Muthuchamy

Mariappan Muthuchamy, PhD

marim@tamu.edu | 979.436.9264 | Office: MREB-II, 2410

Research Interest

Regulatory roles of lymphatics in inflammation

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Kristin Patrick

Kristin Patrick, PhD

kpatrick03@tamu.edu | 979.436.0354 | Office: MREB, 3102

Research Interest

Post-transcriptional control of innate immune gene expression

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Joseph Rutkowski, PhD

rutkowski@tamu.edu | 979.436.0576 | Office: MREB-II, 2414

Research Interest

How chronic inflammatory disease and tissue injury are impacted by lymphatic-immune cell modulation.

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Lee Shapiro, PhD

lshapiro@tamu.edu | 979.436.0272 | Office: MREB

Research Interest

Immune/Neuroimmune axis in brain disorders

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Jon Skare

Jon Skare, PhD

jskare@tamu.edu | 979.436.0353 | Office: MREB, 3004

Research Interest

Bacterial pathogenesis, Lyme disease, Arthropod disease transmission, vector-borne diseases

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Farida Sohrabji

Farida Sohrabji, PhD

f-sohrabji@tamu.edu| 979.436.0335 | Office: MREB, 4102

Research Interest

Neuroinflammation, gut-brain axis

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jim Song

Jim Song, PhD

jus35@tamu.edu | 979.436.0633 | Office: MREB-II, 3344 

Research Interest

Immune regulation

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography


Vernon Tesh, PhD

vltesh@tamu.edu | 979.436.0357 | Office: MREB-II, 3224A

Research Interest

Shiga toxins

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Robert Watson

Robert Watson, Phd, MPH

robert.watson@tamu.edu | 979.436.0342 | Office: MREB, 3100

Research Interest

How the innate immune system interfaces with intracellular bacterial pathogens

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Phillip West

Phillip West, PhD

awest@tamu.edu | 979.436.0870 | Office: MREB, 3012

Research Interest

Mitochondrial control of innate immunity and inflammation in health and disease

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Yi Xu

Yi Xu, PhD

yi-xu1@tamu.edu | 979.436.0568 | Office: ALKEK

Research Interest

Elucidating the molecular interactions between bacterial pathogen and the host

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Keith Young

Keith Young, PhD

kayoung@tamu.edu | 254.760.5568 | Office: MREB-II, 2310

Research Interests

Blood and brain inflammation, B-cell trafficking to brain

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

David Zawieja

David Zawieja, PhD

dcz@tamu.edu | 979.436.0829 | Office: MREB-II, 1341

Research Interest

Role of lymphatic function in inflammation and immunity

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Keywords: infection; inflammation; microbial pathogenesis; bacteriology; virology; immunology; cytokines; chemokines; phagocytes (macrophages, neutrophils, dendritic cells); complement; wound healing; mesenchymal stem cells