skip to main content

Genetics, Genomics and Network Biology


GGNB Focus Area

Genetics, Genomics and Network Biology - GGNB

Research using model organisms to study physiology in health and disease; quantitative, systems-based approaches to gain insight into the molecular, cellular and biochemical networks that underlie biological phenomena.

Faculty

Hubert Amrein, PhD

Hubert Amrein, PhD

amrein@tamu.edu | 979.436.0799 | Office: MREB-II, 1348

Research Interest

Internal Nutrient Sensing; Brain-Gut Axis; Glucose Metabolism

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Helene Andrews-Polymenis

Helene Andrews-Polymenis, DVM, PhD

handrews@tamu.edu | 979.436.0340 | Office: MREB, 3008

Research Interest

Bacterial genetics and genomics, genetics of bacterial pathogens

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Vytas Bankaitis

Vytas Bankaitis, PhD

vytas@tamu.edu | 979.436.0757 | Office: REYNOLDS, 116

Research Interest

Molecular & developmental genetics, lipid signaling, cancer biology, autism, chemical genetics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jeffrey D. Cirillo

Jeffrey Cirillo, PhD

jdcirillo@tamu.edu | 979.436.0343 | Office: MREB II

Research Interest

Susceptibility, resistance and protection network analyses

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Shaunna L. Clark, PhD

Shaunna Clark, PhD

slclark@tamu.edu | 979.436.0179 | Office: CB-1, 1410

Research Interest

Genetic and epigenetic basis of addiction; Bioinformatics and software development

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography


John Hettema, MD, PhD

hettema@tamu.edu | 804.516.3276

Research Interest

Psychiatric Genetic Association Studies

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Yun Huang

Yun Huang, PhD

yun.huang@tamu.edu | 713.677.7484

Research Interest

Epigenomic data analysis

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jenny Hyde

Jenny Hyde, PhD

jhyde@tamu.edu | 979.436.0872 | Office: MREB, 3002

Research Interest

Genetic mechanisms utilized by Borrelia burgdorferi

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jun-yuan Ji

Jun-yuan Ji, PhD

ji@tamu.edu | 979.436.0796 | Office: MREB-II

Research Interest

Developmental genetics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jason Karpac

Jason Karpac, PhD

karpac@tamu.edu | 979.436.0767 | Office: MREB-II, 4342

Research Interest

Functional and integrative genetics/genomics using Drosophila

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Julian Leibowitz, MD, PhD

Julian Leibowitz, MD, PhD

jleibowitz@tamu.edu | 979.436.0313 | Office: MREB-II, 3224C

Research Interest

The role of various coronavirus and host genes in coronavirus replication and pathogenesis

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Alistair McGregor

Alistair McGregor, PhD

mcgalistair2013@tamu.edu | 979.436.9400 | Office: MREB-II, 3348

Research Interest

Cytomegalovirus (CMV) viral genome and cellular response for virus tropism and congenital infection

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Kristin Patrick

Kristin Patrick, PhD

kpatrick03@tamu.edu | 979.436.0354 | Office: MREB, 3102

Research Interest

Global regulation of pre-mRNA splicing and systems biology of host-pathogen interactions

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Samba Reddy

Samba Reddy, PhD, RPh, FAAPS, FAAAS

sambareddy@tamu.edu | 919.539.8721 | Office: MREB, 2008

Research Interest

Epigenetics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Complete Bibliography

Dave Reiner

Dave Reiner, PhD

dreiner@tamu.edu | 713.677.7416 | Office: ALKEK, 916

Research Interest

Genome editing, CRISPR, penetrance

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Irtisha Singh

Irtisha Singh, PhD

isingh@tamu.edu | 646.574.2080 | Office: MREB-II

Research Interest

Gene regulation, transcription factors

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Raquel Sitcheran

Raquel Sitcheran, PhD

sitcheran@tamu.edu | 979.436.0749 | Office: MREB-II, 4348

Research Interest

Genetic approaches to study NF-κB regulatory proteins in metabolism, development and cancer

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

jon-skare.jpg

Jon Skare, PhD

jskare@tamu.edu | 979.436.0353 | Office: MREB, 3004

Research Interest

Transcriptomic and proteomic analysis of Lyme disease spirochetes; emphasis on regulatory schemes

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Brad Verhulst,

Brad Verhulst,

verhulst@tamu.edu | 979.436.9163 | Office: CB1, 1121

Research Interest

Analysis of human genetic data for psychiatric disorders

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jun Wang

Jun Wang, PhD

jwang188@tamu.edu | 979.436.0389 | Office: MREB, 2106

Research Interest

Optogenetics, chemognetics, viral genetics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Robert Watson

Robert Watson, PhD, MPH

robert.watson@tamu.edu | 979.436.0342 | Office: MREB, 3100

Research Interest

Genetic factors that alter susceptibility to intracellular bacterial infection

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Keith Young

Keith Young, PhD

kayoung@tamu.edu | 254.760.5568 | Office: MREB-II, 2310

Research Interest

Spatial transcriptomics, single cell sequencing, blood and brain genomics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Keywords: gene regulation, developmental genetics, bioinformatics, microbial and viral genetics, cancer genetics, epigenetics, polymorphism, multi genetic inheritance, mutations