skip to main content


Founded as part of Texas A&M University with a charter class of 32 students in 1977, the Texas A&M College of Medicine was one of five medical schools established by the Teague-Cranston Act. This federal bill created medical schools in conjunction with existing Veterans Affairs hospitals to meet the needs of the medically underserved areas of the country.

From the beginning, the College of Medicine has followed the land grant service tradition of Texas A&M University and sought to provide well trained physicians and medical scientists in areas of need, including primary care and clinical care in rural communities, and to provide affordable medical school training for medical students. To create a workforce equipped to answer these demands, and the demands of a changing health care landscape, the College of Medicine has consistently worked to innovate its curriculum and collaborations. Now home to campuses in Bryan-College Station, Temple, Round Rock, Dallas and Houston, the College of Medicine currently enrolls approximately more than 700 medical students and more than 70 graduate students.

Throughout the College of Medicine, active research programs are currently underway in biochemistry, cancer, cardiovascular and integrated biology, cell and molecular biology, clinical translational medicine, microbial and molecular pathogenesis and neuroscience. Research is conducted through both the basic science and clinical departments, and the research institutes affiliated with the college.

The College of Medicine remains committed to providing an environment which promotes the Texas A&M Core Values in its physicians and scientists. An emphasis on broad-based instruction in the medical sciences produces individuals with the knowledge, expertise, and vision to meet the challenges facing medicine in the 21st century in human science, clinical skills and patient care.