skip to main content

Cancer, Cell and Developmental Biology


CCDB Focus Area

Cancer, Cell and Developmental Biology - CCDB

Research related to the regulation of development, including processes dysregulated in cancer, such as control of cell cycle, cell survival and cell death; the role of innate and adaptive immunity in cancer and immunotherapy, molecular and cellular mechanisms of cancer initiation and pathogenesis; metabolic dysregulation in cancer, lymphatics in cancer progression; and design and application of mouse models of human cancer.

Faculty

Vytas Bankaitis

Vytas Bankaitis, PhD

vytas@tamu.edu | 979.436.0757 | Office: REYNOLDS, 116

Research Interest

Molecular genetics, lipid signaling & cancer biology, cell cycle control, TOR signaling, drug discovery

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Kayla Bayless

Kayla Bayless, PhD

kaylajb@tamu.edu | 979.436.0763 | Office: MREB-II, 4412

Research Interest

Understanding the biochemical role of cytoskeletal and adapter proteins in new blood vessel growth.

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Sarah Bondos

Sarah Bondos, PhD

bondos@tamu.edu | 979.436.0807 | Office: MREB-II, 4417

Research Interest

Hox protein regulation in developmental biology

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Sanjukta Chakraborty

Sanjukta Chakraborty, PhD

schakraborty@tamu.edu | 979.436.0697 | Office: MREB-II, 2416

Research Interest

Tumor lymphatic interactions in progression of lymph node metastasis

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jeffrey Cirillo

Jeffrey Cirillo, PhD

jdcirillo@tamu.edu | 979.436.0343 | Office: MREB-II, 3350

Research Interest

Therapeutic strategies and epigenetic analyses

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography


Roderick Dashwood, PhD

rdashwood@tamu.edu | 713.677.7806 | Office: ALKEK

Research Interest

Cancer epigenetics/prevention, from cell-based assays and preclinical models to human translation.

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Peter Davies

Peter Davies, MD, PhD

pdavies@tamu.edu | 713.677.7473 | Office: ALKEK, 900

Research Interest

Drug discovery research, snake venom research

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Robin Fuchs Young

Robin Fuchs-Young, PhD

fuchs-young@tamu.edu | 512.699.3704 | Office: MREB-II, 4410

Research Interest

Mechanisms of cancer susceptibility

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Shannon Glaser

Shannon Glaser, PhD

sglaser@tamu.edu | 979.436.9260 | Office: MREB-II, 2342

Research Interest

Biliary cancer, hepatobiliary cancer, cholangiocarcinoma

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Carl Gregory

Carl Gregory, PhD

cgregory@tamu.edu | 979.436.9643 | Office: MREB-II, 4414

Research Interest

Musculoskeletal cancer, bone involvement

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Yun Huang,

Yun Huang, PhD

yun.huang@tamu.edu | 713.677.7484

Research Interest

Cancer epigenetics and developmental epigenetics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jun-Yuan Ji

Jun-Yuan Ji, PhD

ji@tamu.edu | 979.436.0796

Research Interest

Cancer biology, developmental biology

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jason Karpac

Jason Karpac, PhD

karpac@tamu.edu | 975.436.0767 | Office: MREB-II, 4342

Research Interest

Exploring cell signaling, integrative physiology, and oncogenic signaling using drosophila

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Fei Liu,

Fei Liu, PhD

fliu@tamu.edu | 979.436.9642 | Office: REYNOLDS, 242B

Research Interest

Cancer nanomedicine, adverse effects of radiotherapy

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography


Steve Maxwell, PhD

s-maxwell@tamu.edu | 979.436.0804 | Office: MREB II, 4418

Research Interest

Mechanisms of drug resistance in lymphoma

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Rajesh-Miranda

Rajesh Miranda, PhD

rmiranda@tamu.edu | 979.436.0332 | Office: MREB

Research Interest

Fetal and perinatal development, brain, placenta, opioids, alcohol

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Xu Peng

Xu Peng, MD, PhD

xp23@tamu.edu | 979.436.9265 | Office: MREB-II, 3417

Research Interest

Signal transduction and epigenetic regulators in cardiovascular and lymphatic development

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Dave Reiner

Dave Reiner, PhD

dreiner@tamu.edu | 713.677.7416 | Office: ALKEK, 916

Research Interest

Signal transduction, proto-oncogenes, GTPases, Ras, RalGEF, Ral, Rheb, fate patterning, fidelity

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Irtisha Singh, PhD

Irtisha Singh, PhD

isingh@tamu.edu | 646.574.2080 | Office: MREB-II

Research Interest

RNA processing, gene regulation, epigenetics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Raquel Sitcheran

Raquel Sitcheran, PhD

sitcheran@tamu.edu | 979.436.0749 | Office: MREB-II, 4348

Research Interest

Investigating NF-κB proteins in mitochondrial dysfunction, metabolism and cancer progression.

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jim Song

Jim Song, PhD

jus35@tamu.edu | 979.436.0633

Research Interest

Cancer immunotherapy

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

David Threadgill, PhD

dwt@tamu.edu | 979.436.0850 | Office: REYN 428

Research Interest

EGFR, Colon Cancer, Environmental Toxicants, Diet, Stem Cells

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Phillip West

Phillip West, PhD

awest@tamu.edu | 979.436.0870 | Office: MREB, 3012

Research Interest

Mitochondrial dysfunction and immune rewiring in cancer

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Yi Xu

Yi Xu,

yi-xu1@tamu.edu | 713.677.7570 | Office: ALKEK

Research Interest

Understanding the connection between gut microbes and colorectal cancer

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Yubin Zhou

Yubin Zhou, MD, PhD

yubinzhou@tamu.edu | 713.677.7483 | Office: ALKEK, 925

Research Interest

Calcium signaling, ion channels, oncogenic signaling pathways, and epigenetics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Warren Zimmer, PhD

Warren Zimmer, PhD

wezimmer@tamu.edu | 979.436.0752 | Office: MREB-II, 3416

Research Interest

Transcription factor action, smooth muscle differentiation, cancer progression, prostate cancer

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Keywords: gene regulation, developmental genetics, bioinformatics, microbial and viral genetics, cancer genetics, epigenetics, polymorphism, multi genetic inheritance, mutations