skip to main content

Brain, Behavior, Psychiatric and Neurological Disorders


BBPND Focus Area

Brain, Behavior, Psychiatric and Neurological Disorders - BBPND

Research related to normal neural development and neuro-developmental disorders, behavior, adaptation to injury and disease, psychiatric disorders.

Faculty

Hubert Amrein, PhD

Hubert Amrein, PhD

Amrein@tamu.edu | 979.436.0799 | Office: MREB-II, 1348

Research Interest

Internal Nutrient Sensing; Brain-Gut Axis; Glucose Metabolism

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Vytas Bankaitis

Vytas Bankaitis, PhD

vytas@tamu.edu | 979.436.0757 | Office: REYNOLDS, 116

Research Interest

Neural stem cell biology, neurodegenerative diseases, autism, lipid signaling, lipid metabolism

Graduate Program Affiliation

 

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Adam Case

Adam Case, PhD

acase@tamu.edu | 979.436.0757 | Office: REYNOLDS, 116

Research Interest

Cross-talk between the immune system and the brain in mental health disorders

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jiang Chang

Jiang Chang, MD, PhD

jiangchang@tamu.edu | 713.677.7603 | Office: ALKEK, 820F

Research Interest

Hydrocephalus, PTSD, biomarkers

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Shaunna Clark

Shaunna Clark, PhD

slclark@tamu.edu | 979.436.0179

Research Interest

Genetic and epigenetic basis of addiction and mental health; Statistical methods development

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Paul Derry

Paul Derry, PhD

derry@tamu.edu | 713.677.7515 | Office: ALKEK, 1004A

Research Interest

Neuroprotective antioxidant nanomaterials and iron-mediated neurotoxicity

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

David Earnest

David Earnest, PhD

dearnest@tamu.edu | 979.436.0328 | Office: MREB, 2004

Research Interest

Role of circadian rhythm disruption in human health disorders (cancer, metabolic disease, stroke)

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Cedric Geoffroy

Cedric Geoffroy, PhD

geoffroy@tamu.edu | 979.436.9023 | Office: MREB, 4100

Research Interest

Spinal cord injury, neurotrauma

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

John Hettema

John Hettema, MD, PhD

hettema@tamu.edu | 804.516.3276

Research Interest

Developmental mechanisms of anxiety and related disorders

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Michelle Hook

Michelle Hook, PhD

michellehook@tamu.edu | 979.436.0568

Research Interest

Recovery of function following a spinal cord injury (SCI).

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Thomas Kent

Thomas Kent, MD

tkent@tamu.edu | 713.677.7523 | Office: ALKEK, 1004

Research Interest

Stroke, trauma, neurodegeneration, nanomedicine

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Julian Leibowitz, MD, PhD

Julian Leibowitz, MD, PhD

jleibowitz@tamu.edu | 979.436.0313 | Office: MREB-II, 3224C

Research Interest

Persistent infections of the CNS by coronaviruses and Theiler's murine encephalomyelitis virus

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Rajesh-Miranda

Rajesh Miranda, PhD

rmiranda@tamu.edu | 979.436.0332 | Office: MREB

Research Interest

Fetal brain development, ncRNAs, neural stem cells

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Samba Reddy

Samba Reddy, PhD, RPh, FAAPS, FAAAS

sambareddy@tamu.edu | 919.539.8721 | Office: MREB, 2008

Research Interest

Epilepsy and brain diseases, neurotherapeutics

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Mendell Rimer

Mendell Rimer, PhD

rimer@tamu.edu | 979.436.0334 | Office: MREB, 4008

Research Interest

Developmental neuroscience, synapse formation, maintenance, and pathology, neuromuscular diseases

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Lee Shapiro

Lee Shapiro, PhD

lshapiro@tamu.edu | 979.436.0272 | Office: MREB

Research Interest

Traumatic brain injury, epilepsy, neuroinflammation, immunology, neuroanatomy, neurogenesis, glia

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Ashok K. Shetty

Ashok Shetty, PhD

akskrs@tamu.edu | 979.436.9653 | Office: REYNOLDS, 240A

Research Interest

Traumatic brain injury, epilepsy, AD & Gulf War illness: pathophysiology & therapeutic strategies

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Laura Smith

Laura Smith, PhD

laura.smith@tamu.edu | 979.436.0303 | Office: MREB, 4102

Research Interest

Regulation of synapse plasticity in striatum and neuropsychiatric disorders

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Farida Sohrabji

Farida Sohrabji, PhD

f-sohrabji@tamu.edu | 979.436.0335 | Office: MREB, 4102

Research Interest

Sex differences, women's health, gut-brain axis, stroke, Alzhiemer's disease

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Rahul Srinivasan, PhD

rahul@tamu.edu | 979.436.0289 | Office: MREB, 4012

Research Interest

The role of astrocytes in Parkinson's disease and clinically translatable therapies for Parkinson's

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Robert Tsai

Robert Tsai, MD, PhD

robtsai@tamu.edu | 713.677.7690

Research Interest

Neurodegeneration and regeneration

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Jun Wang

Jun Wang, PhD

jwang188@tamu.edu | 979.436.0389 | Office: MREB, 2106

Research Interest

Drug and alcohol addiction, basal ganalia, plasticity, electrophysiology, optogenetics, behavior

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Robert Watson

Robert Watson, PhD, MPH

robert.watson@tamu.edu | 979.436.0342 | MREB, 3100

Research Interest

Connections between infection, peripheral immune responses, and neuroinflammation

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Gregg Wells

Gregg Wells, MD, PhD

gbwells@tamu.edu | 979.436.0780 | Office: REYNOLDS, 226

Research Interest

Role of protein structure and function in diseases, particularly in neurological diseases

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Keith Young

Keith Young, PhD

kayoung@tamu.edu | 254.760.5568 | Office: MREB-II, 2310

Research Interest

Stereology, PTSD, stress, brain spatial spectroscopy

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Yubin Zhao

Yubin Zhou, MD, PhD

yubinzhou@tamu.edu | 713.677.7483 | Office: ALKEK, 925

Research Interest

Neuro-oncology, optogenetics, chemogenetics, and neurodegenerative diseases

Graduate Program Affiliation

Publications

Complete Bibliography

Keywords: Brain and spinal trauma, cerebrovascular stroke and other neurovascular dysfunction, neuroinflammation, Autism Spectrum Disorders, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders, neuro-oncology, neuro-muscular disease, autonomic dysfunction, brain-gut and brain-endocrine function, addiction, psychosocial trauma and social determinants of brain health, post-traumatic stress disorder, anxiety disorders, depression, schizophrenia, computational neuroscience, epilepsy, seizures, neurodegenerative diseases including Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), spinal muscular atrophy (SMA)