skip to main content

People at Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology

Principal/Primary Faculty

Helene-Andrews

Helene Andrews-Polymenis, DVM, PhD

Professor and Presidential Impact Fellow
Characterization of Salmonella enterica virulence genes

Carolyn Cannon

Carolyn Cannon, MD, PhD

Associate Professor

Zhilei Chen Zhilei Chen, PhD

Associate Professor
Antiviral Discovery and Biotechnology
Yeon Choi  K. Yeon Choi, PhD

Research Associate Professor
Jeffrey Cirillo Jeffrey D. Cirillo, PhD

Regents Professor
Molecular genetic analysis of bacterial respiratory pathogens
TAMU Block Logo Maroon Karu Chockalingam, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
David Huston, MD, PhD 

David P. Huston, MD

Professor and Associate Dean for Physician Scientist Development

Dr Jenny Hyde Jenny Hyde, PhD

Associate Professor
Pathogenic mechanisms and immune modulation of Borrelia burgdorferi, etiologic agent of Lyme disease
Julian Leibowitz Julian Leibowitz, MD, PhD

Professor
Coronavirus replication and gene expression and the molecular basis of coronavirus pathogenesis
Alistair McGregor Alistair McGregor, PhD

Professor
Herpes viruses, pathogenicity, vaccines and antivirals. Cytomegalovirus congenital infection.
Kristin Patrick new  Kristin Patrick, PhD

Assistant Professor
Regulation of RNA metabolism during bacterial infection
James Samuel  James Samuel, PhD

Regents Professor and Head
Wofford Cain Endowed Chair in Infectious Disease
Molecular pathogenesis and vaccine development for Q fever
Jon Skare Jon Skare, PhD

Professor and Associate Head
Molecular pathogenesis of Lyme borreliosis
Jim Song Jianxun (Jim) Song, PhD

Professor
Cellular regulation of T cell immunity and tolerance
Veron Tesh  Vernon Tesh, PhD

Professor
Pathogenic mechanisms of Shiga toxins
erin-van-schaik.jpg Erin Van Schaik, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
TAMU Block Logo Maroon Hongbin Wang, PhD

Professor
Biomedical Informatics Core, Clinical Science & Translational Research
Robert Watson  Robert O. Watson, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor
Host-pathogen interactions responsible for M. tuberculosis virulence
Van Wilson Van Wilson, PhD

Professor
Molecular biology of papillomaviruses

 

 

Joint/Adjunct Faculty

 TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Robert Chapkin, PhD

Regents Professor

 TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Michael Criscitiello, PhD

Assistant Professor

 TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Kevin Cummings, PhD

Assistant Professor

 TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Jason Gill, PhD

Associate Professor
Bacteriophage Biology & Microbiology

 Magnus Hook

Magnus Höök, PhD

Director, Center for Infectious and Inflammatory Diseases
Interaction of pathogens with components of the extracellular matrix

 TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Julian Hurdle, PhD

Associate Professor
Center for Infectious and Inflammatory Diseases

 TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Arul Jayaraman, PhD

Associate Professor
Holder of the Ray Nesbitt Development Professorship

 Amminikutty Jeevan

Amminikutty Jeevan, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Investigate whether ultraviolet radiation alters BCG vaccination-induced host resistance in the well-established guinea pig model of low dose pulmonary tuberculosis

 Koichi Kobayashi

Koichi S Kobayashi M.D., Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor
Regulation of the innate and adaptive immune system 

Lan Ly 

Lan Ly, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Vaccine-induced resistance in the guinea pig model of tuberculosis

TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Katja Mertens, PhD

Assistant Professor

TAMU Block Logo Maroon 

Margarita Martinez-Moczygemba, PhD

Assistant Professor
Cytokine signaling and eosinophil biology

karen-newell.jpg

Karen Newell-Rogers, PhD

Professor

TAMU Block Logo Maroon 

Benjamin Neuman

Biology Professor

TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Daniel Paredes-Sabja

Joint Associate Professor

TAMU Block Logo Maroon

W.J. Treat, PhD

Adjunct Research Professor

TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Sunita Varghees, MD

Assistant Professor

Phillip West

A. Phillip West, PhD

Assistant Professor
Mitochondrial regulation of immune responses in health and disease

TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Yi Xu, PhD

Assistant Professor
Bacteria and host interactions; bacterial pathogenesis; bacterial activation of the actin cytoskeleton; bacterial breaching of the mucosal barrier

TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Zhilong Yang

Joint Associate Professor
Department of Veterinary Pathobiology

TAMU Block Logo Maroon 

Dekai Zhang, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor
Molecular mechanisms of innate immune recognition

Emeritus Faculty

 TAMU Block Logo Maroon

Roderick McCallum, PhD

Professor Emeritus
Community outreach programs to increase childhood vaccination rates

David McMurray

David McMurray, PhD

Professor Emeritus
Regulation of infectious disease resistance by vaccination and diet

John Quarles

John Quarles, PhD

Professor Emeritus
Antiviral vaccines and drugs and applications of flow cytometry in microbiology

 

Research Staff

Shannon Allen
Research Group: Skare
979.436.0355
Shannon.allen@tamu.edu
Associate Research Scientist

Madeline Colley
979-436-9407
Research Assistant
Research group: McGregor

Jugal Das
Research Group: Song
jugal@tamu.edu
979.436.0794
Assistant Research Scientist

Madison Ellis
Research group: Leibowitz
madison.ellis10@tamu.edu
979-436-0344
Research Assistant

Lisa Funkhouser-Jones
Research Group: Skare
l.funkhouser-jones@tamu.edu
979.436.0355
Assistant Research Scientist

Xiaofang Xiong
Research group: Song
xxiong@tamu.edu
979.436.0794
Senior Research Associate

Yu Zeng
Research Group: Chen
979.436.9494
zyqshshl66@tamu.edu
Assistant Research Scientist

Support Staff

Angela Corn
Business Coordinator II
979.436.0347
angelacorn@tamu.edu

Debra Dube
Business Coordinator I
979.436.0556
ddube@tamu.edu

Paula McCarver
Business Administrator I
979.436.0346
pmccarver@tamu.edu

Kelli Richard
Administrative Coordinator I
979.436.0345
kcooks@tamu.edu

LeeAnn Nichols
Senior Administrative Coordinator I
979.436.0348
nichols@tamu.edu

Graduate Students

Francesca Agobe
Research Group: Cannon
francesca@exchange.tamu.edu

Kaitlyn Armijo
Research Group: Patrick/ Watson
karmijo@tamu.edu

Darby Ballard
Research Group: Song
darbyballard@tamu.edu

Morgan Chapman
Research Group: Patrick
morganjames.chapman@tamu.edu

Sabrina Clark
Research Group: Samuel
coolclark@tamu.edu

Aja Coleman
Research Group: Patrick/Watson
coleman123@tamu.edu

Kennedy Coleman
Research Group: Hyde
klc9@tamu.edu

Jake Davis
Research Group: Patrick/Watson 
jacob.r.davis@tamu.edu

Kaylee Delgado
Research Group: Song
kaylee_delgado@tamu.edu

Lily Ellzey
Research Group: Watson
lellzey@tamu.edu

Lauren Farris
Research Group: Hyde
lauren.farris@tamu.edu
979.436.0852

David Gafford-Gaby
Research Group: Hyde

Cory Mabry
Research Group: Patrick/Watson
cory1024@tamu.edu

Eduardo Martinez
Research Group: Patrick/Watson
emarti62@tamu.edu

Ricardo Munoz
Research Group: Cannon
ricardo.munoz01@tamu.edu

Anna Pinson
Research Group: Samuel
apinson@tamu.edu

Brittany Shapiro
Research Group: Skare
bshap48@tamu.edu

Mackenzie Smith
Research Group: Patrick
mackenzie.smith@tamu.edu
979.436.0352

Benjamin Thomas
Research Group: Chen
magicairben6@tamu.edu

Christina James Thomas
Research Group: Song
chrjamesthomas@tamu.edu

Liqing Wang
Research group: Song
wang1989@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0794

Michael Woolley
Research Group: Chen
michael.woolley@tamu.edu

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Aryashree Arunima
Research Group: Samuel
aarunima@tamu.edu
979-436-0351

Aaron Benjamin
Research Group: Cirillo
aaronbbenjamin@tamu.edu
979.436.9164

Joshua Bryant
Research group: Chen
joshbryant@tamu.edu
979.436.9442

Kent Koster
Research Group: Cirillo
kkoster@tamu.edu
979.436.9164

Anil Kumar
Research Group: Song
anil85krp@tamu.edu
979.436.0794

Chuan Liang
Research Group: Cirillo
chuan@tamu.edu
979.436.9164

Sarisa Na Pomberja
Research Group: Leibowitz
snapombejra@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.9013

Yushu Qin
Research Group: McGregor
yushu@tamu.edu
979-436-9407

 

Joana Rocha
Research Group: Andrews-Polymenis
joana1@tamu.edu
979.436.0341

Brandee Stone
Research Group: Hyde
brandee.stone@tamu.edu
979.436.0871

Nagaraja Sunnagatta, (Sunil) Sunilgowda
Research Group: Song
sunilgowda.sn4492@gmail.com
979.436.0794

 

 

 

 

Catherine Weindel
Research Group: Patrick/Watson
chiweindel@tamu.edu
979.436.0273