skip to main content

People at Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology

Principal/Primary Faculty

Robert C. Alaniz, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Pathogen-specific T-cell Development during Mucosal Salmonella infection

Helene Andrews-Polymenis, DVM, PhD
Professor and Presidential Impact Fellow
Characterization of Salmonella enterica virulence genes

Carolyn Cannon, MD, PhD
Associate Professor

Zhilei Chen, PhD
Associate Professor
Antiviral Discovery and Biotechnology

K. Yeon Choi, PhD
Research Assistant Professor

Jeffrey D. Cirillo, PhD
Regents Professor
Molecular genetic analysis of bacterial respiratory pathogens

Paul de Figueiredo, PhD
Associate Professor
Molecular mechanisms mediating host-pathogen interactions, the evolution of pathogenesis, the discovery of novel anti-microbials, and the development of biotechnology platforms

David P. Huston, MD
Professor and Vice Dean - Houston campus
Immunobiology of Allergic Inflammation

Jenny Hyde, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pathogenic mechanisms and immune modulation of Borrelia burgdorferi, etiologic agent of Lyme disease

Julian Leibowitz, MD, PhD
Professor
Coronavirus replication and gene expression and the molecular basis of coronavirus pathogenesis

Alistair McGregor, PhD
Associate Professor
Herpes viruses, pathogenicity, vaccines and antivirals. Cytomegalovirus congenital infection.

Kristin Patrick, PhD
Assistant Professor
Regulation of RNA metabolism during bacterial infection

James Samuel, PhD
Regents Professor and Head
Wofford Cain Endowed Chair in Infectious Disease
Molecular pathogenesis and vaccine development for Q fever

Erin Van Schaik, PhD
Research Assistant Professor

Jon Skare, PhD
Professor and Associate Head
Molecular pathogenesis of Lyme borreliosis

Jack Smith, MD, PhD
Professor
Biomedical Informatics Core, Clinical Science & Translational Research

Jianxun (Jim) Song, PhD
Professor
Cellular regulation of T cell immunity and tolerance

Vernon Tesh, PhD
Professor
Pathogenic mechanisms of Shiga toxins

Hongbin Wang, PhD
Professor
Biomedical Informatics Core, Clinical Science & Translational Research

E. Sally Ward, PhD
Research Professor
Antibody engineering for the therapy of cancer and autoimmunity

Robert O. Watson, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Host-pathogen interactions responsible for M. tuberculosis virulence

A. Phillip West, PhD
Assistant Professor
Mitochondrial regulation of immune responses in health and disease

Laura Ciaccia West, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Immune responses to cancer

Van Wilson, PhD
Professor
Molecular biology of papillomaviruses

Joint/Adjunct Faculty

Robert Chapkin, PhD
Regents Professor

Michael Criscitiello, PhD
Assistant Professor

Kevin Cummings, PhD
Assistant Professor

Jason Gill, PhD
Associate Professor
Bacteriophage Biology & Microbiology

Magnus Höök, PhD
Director, Center for Infectious and Inflammatory Diseases
Interaction of pathogens with components of the extracellular matrix

Julian Hurdle, PhD
Associate Professor
Center for Infectious and Inflammatory Diseases

Arul Jayaraman, PhD
Associate Professor
Holder of the Ray Nesbitt Development Professorship

Amminikutty Jeevan, PhD
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Investigate whether ultraviolet radiation alters BCG vaccination-induced host resistance in the well-established guinea pig model of low dose pulmonary tuberculosis

Lan Ly, PhD
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Vaccine-induced resistance in the guinea pig model of tuberculosis

Katja Mertens, PhD
Assistant Professor

Margarita Martinez-Moczygemba, PhD
Assistant Professor
Cytokine signaling and eosinophil biology

Karen Newell-Rogers, PhD
Professor

Sunita Varghees, MD
Assistant Professor

Yi Xu, PhD
Assistant Professor
Bacteria and host interactions; bacterial pathogenesis; bacterial activation of the actin cytoskeleton; bacterial breaching of the mucosal barrier

Dekai Zhang, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor
Molecular mechanisms of innate immune recognition

Emeritus Faculty

Roderick McCallum, PhD
Professor Emeritus
Community outreach programs to increase childhood vaccination rates

David McMurray, PhD
Professor Emeritus
Regulation of infectious disease resistance by vaccination and diet

John Quarles, PhD
Professor Emeritus
Antiviral vaccines and drugs and applications of flow cytometry in microbiology

Retired Faculty

Laura Hendrix, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Molecular pathogenesis of Bartonella spp

Research Staff

Elizabeth Bustamante
Research Group: de Figueiredo
ebustamante@tamu.edu
979.436.0358
Research Associate

Shaorong Chen
Research Group: de Figueiredo
srchen@tamu.edu
979.436.0661
Associate Research Scientist

Karu Chockalingam
Research group: Chen
chockali2@tamu.edu
979.436.9407
Research Scientist

Jyotsana Gupta
Research group: Leibowitz
jyotsanagupta@tamu.edu
979.436.0341
Associate Research Scientist

Prashant Jaiswal
Research group: Skare
pjaiswal@tamu.edu
979.436.0355
Assistant Research Scientist

Xiaofeng Kang
Research group: de Figueiredo
xfkang@tamu.edu
979.436.9013
Associate Research Scientist

Domyong Kim
Research group: Chen
kimd17@exchange.tamu.edu
Associate Research Scientist

Blake Meche
Research group: Samuel
meche@tamu.edu
979.436.0729
Research Associate

Robbie Moore
Research group: Alaniz
rmoore@tamu.edu
979.436.0840
Laboratory Coordinator

Qingming Qin
Research group: de Figueiredo
qmqin@tamu.edu
979.436.9013
Associate Research Scientist

Yijie Ren
Research group: Song
ren@tamu.edu
979.436.0794
Research Assistant

Alexandria Jade Roberts
Research group: de Figueiredo lab
almroberts@tamu.edu
979.436.0358
Research Assistant

Sabona Simbassa
Research group: Cannon
simbassa@tamu.edu
979.436.0867
Research Assistant

Marissa Talamantes
Research group: Andrews-Polymenis
talamantes@tamu.edu
979.436.0341
Research Assistant

Pamela Ulloa-Franco
Research group: Patrick/Watson lab
ulloafranco@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0665
Research Assistant

Xiaofang (Ava) Xiong
Research group: Song
xxiong@tamu.edu
979.436.0794
Research Associate

Support Staff

Paula McCarver
Business Administrator I
979.436.0346
pmccarver@tamu.edu

LeeAnn Nichols
Administrative Coordinator I
979.436.0348
nichols@tamu.edu

Monica Ocon
Business Coordinator II
979.436.0347
mmocon@tamu.edu

Sandra Reyes
Business Coordinator I
979.436.0556
 
Lacey Richards
Administrative Coordinator I
979.436.0345
 

Graduate Students

Ammar Abdullah
Research group: Cirillo
abdu1985@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0364

Ana Cabello Aguirre
Research group: deFigueiredo
acabello@cvm.tamu.edu
979.436.0358

Bhagath Chirra
Research group: Cannon
bhagath421@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0312

Nadia El-Hamdi
Research group: McGregor
nselhamdi@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0311

Sahar Eshghjoo
Research group: Alaniz
eshghjoo@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0840

Lauren Farris
Research Group: Hyde
lauren.farris@tamu.edu
979.436.0852

Alycia Fratzke
Research Group: Samuel
afratzke@cvm.tamu.edu
979.845.5941

Abby Lei
Research group: West
abbylei@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0839

Aravindh Nagarajan
Research group: Andrews-Polymenis
aravindh@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0341

Sylvia Torres Odio
Research group: West
torres.odio@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.9442

Hao Yun Peng
Research group: Song
haoyun0122@tamu.edu
979.436.0348

Alexandra Powell
Research group: Skare
adpowell@tamu.edu
979.862.5988

Haley Scott
Research group: Patrick
hms227@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0352

Allison Wagner
Research group: Patrick
allisonwagner@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0352

Liqing Wang
Research group: Song
wang1989@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0794

Kelsey Wells
Research group: de Figueiredo
kmwells@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0358

Kelsi West
Research group: Watson
kwest@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.0352

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Vanessa Ante
Research Group: Hyde
ante@tamu.edu
979.436.0871

Samantha Bell
Research Group: Watson
bell@tamu.edu
979.436.0367

Aaron Benjamin
Research Group: Cirillo
aaronbbenjamin@tamu.edu
979.436.9164

Joshua Bryant
Research group: West
joshbryant@tamu.edu
979.436.9442

Elizabeth Case
Research Group: Samuel
ecase@tamu.edu
979.436.0351

Jugal Das
Research Group: Song
jugal@tamu.edu
979.436.0794

Mayukh Das
Research Group: deFigueiredo
mdas@tamu.edu
979.436.9013

Timothy Fitzsimons
Research Group: Watson
fitzsimons@tamu.edu
979.703.9408

Anthony Gregory
Research Group: Samuel
a.gregory@tamu.edu
979.436.0367

Fengguang Guo
Research Group: deFigueiredo
gfg3@tamu.edu
979.436.9013

Callie Kobayashi
Research Group: Andrews-Polymenis
calliekobayashi@tamu.edu
979.436.0341

Kent Koster
Research Group: Cirillo
kkoster@tamu.edu
979.436.9164

Anil Kumar
Research Group: Song
akumar@wihg.res.in
979.436.0790

Max Lebedev
Research Group: Cirillo
mlebedev@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436-9164

Saugata Mahapatra
Research Group: Samuel
saugata@tamu.edu
979.436.0367

Madeleine Moule
Research Group: Cirillo
moule@tamu.edu
979.436.0366

Joana Rocha
Research Group: Andrews-Polymenis
joana1@tamu.edu
979.436.0341

Kumar Sathish
Research Group: Cirillo
kskumar@tamu.edu
979.436.9164

Rudo Simeon
Research Group: Chen
rsimeon@exchange.tamu.edu
979.436.9494

Marie Southerland 
Research Group: Cannon 
southerland@tamu.edu
979.436.0867

Catherine Weindel
Research Group: Watson
chiweindel@tamu.edu
979.436.0273

Jing Yang
Research Group: deFigueiredo
yangjing-sh@tamu.edu
979.436.9013

Yu Zeng
Research Group: Chen
zyqshshl66@tamu.edu
979.436.9407

Dongmei Zhang 
Research Group: de Figueiredo 
dongmei@tamu.edu
979.436.9013