skip to main content

People

Principal/Primary Faculty

Adam J. Case, PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Associate Professor of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
PTSD; Psychological trauma; Anxiety; Depression; Redox Biology; Immunology; Physiology
 

Sanjukta Chakraborty, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Lymphatic Biology; Inflammation; Microbiome; Tumor Microenvironment; Lymphatic Metastasis

Shannon S. Glaser, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Lymphatic Biology; Vascular Biology; Hepatology
 

Travis W. Hein, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Vascular Biology; Microcirculation; Nitric Oxide and Endothelin-1 Signaling; Diabetes

Lih Kuo, PhD
Regents Professor of Medical Physiology
Associate Department Head 
Director, Ophthalmic Vascular Research Program
Vascular Biology; Microcirculation; Oxidative Stress

Brett M. Mitchell, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Hypertension; Immunity and Inflammation; Preeclampsia; Endothelial Dysfunction

Ian V.J. Murray, PhD
Instructional Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Mechanisms Underlying Alzheimer's Disease; Analysis of Medical Education

Mariappan Muthuchamy, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Cardiac & Lymphatic Muscle Contraction; Mechanotransduction

M. Karen Newell-Rogers, PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Immune Response to Chronic Inflammatory Syndroms
 

Xu Peng, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Cardiac and Vascular Development; Angiogenesis and Vasculogenesis

Thomas V. Peterson, PhD
Instructional Professor of Medical Physiology
Teaching and Curriculum Development; Medical Student Admissions

Roderic Pettigrew, PhD, MD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Executive Dean, Engineering Medicine
Cardiology; Imaging; Bioengineering                                      
pettigrew@tamhsc.edu

Robert Rosa Jr., PhD
Professor of Medical Physiology
Retinal Vasoregulation; Retinal and Choroidal Neovascularization; Macular Degeneration; Diabetic Retinopathy
rrosa@tamu.edu
 
Joseph M. Rutkowski, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Lymphatic Biology; Lymph Transport; Metabolism; Adipose Tissue Biology
 
Paula Shireman, MD, MS, MBA
Professor of Medical Physiology
Executive Associate Dean, College of Medicine
Muscle Regeneration; Extremity Vascular Trauma; Imaging
shireman@tamu.edu
 

Carl Tong, MD, PhD, FACC
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Contractile Proteins; Diastolic Dysfunction; Contractility; Cardiomyopathy; Calcium to Cross-Bridge Relationship

Andreea Trache, PhD
Associate Professor of Medical Physiology
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Live Cell Biophysics; Mechanobiology; Imaging

Jerome P. Trzeciakowski, PhD
Instructional Professor of Medical Physiology
Biomathematics; Complexity; Modeling; Algorithm Design

Regents Professor and Head of Medical Physiology
Executive Director, Cardiovascular Research Institute
Lymphatic Biology; Vascular Biology; Microcirculation; Imaging

Joint/Adjunct Faculty

Jiang Chang, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Molecular Development and Diseases, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Cardiac Biology; Molecular Basis of Heart Failure

Peter J. A. Davies, MD, PhD
Professor and Alkek Chair, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Professor of Medical Physiology
Molecular Basis of Hormone and Drug Action; Biology and Pharmacology of Retinoids

Abishek Jain, PhD
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Director, Bioinspired Translational Microsystems (BioinSyst) Lab
Pathophysiological Interactions Between Blood Cells and Vessel Wall; Microengineered Models of Vascular and Hematologic Diseases

David J. Reiner, PhD
Associate Professor, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Professor of Medical Physiology
Mechanisms of Cell Signaling; Harnessing Model Genetic Organisms for Drug Discovery and Translational Biology

John Stallone, PhD 
Professor of Physiology and Pharmacology
Professor of Medical Physiology
Vascular physiology and pharmacology, especially sex differences in vascular function, blood pressure and hypertension; The roles of the gonadal steroids (androgens and estrogens) in the regulation

Guoyao Wu, PhD
Professor of Animal Science
Professor of Medical Physiology
TAES Faculty Fellow and University Faculty Fellow
Pathobiology of Nitric Oxide and Polyamines; Diabetes, Obesity and Cardiovascular Complications

Yubin Zhou, MB, PhD
Assistant Professor, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Assistant Professor of Medical Physiology
Calcium Channels; Calcium Ion Transport; Calcium Flux

Emeritus Faculty

R. Kelly Hester, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Medical Physiology
Associate Dean for Faculty Development Emeritus, Texas A&M University College of Medicine

Cynthia Meininger, PhD
Professor Emerita of Medical Physiology

Janet L. Parker, PhD
Professor Emerita of Medical Physiology

H. Wayne Sampson, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Medical Physiology

Warren E. Zimmer, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Medical Physiology

Research Staff

Walter E. Cromer, PhD
Associate Research Scientist
Supervisor: Dr. David C. Zawieja
wecromer@tamu.edu

Olga Gasheva, MD, PhD
Assistant Research Scientist
Supervisor: Dr. David C. Zawieja
ogasheva@tamu.edu

Wei Wang, MD, MSc
Assistant Research Scientist
Supervisor: Dr. David C. Zawieja
weiwang@tamu.edu 

Clerical Staff

Vince Cupit
Administrative Associate III
vcupit@tamu.edu

Tina R. Mendoza
Business Administrator I
trmendoza@tamu.edu

Oksana Nekrashevych, MPH
Project Coordinator II
 

Amelia Rodriguez
Business Coordinator I
aerodriguez@tamu.edu

Technical Staff

Priya Arunachalam
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Carl Tong
priya.enmed@exchange.tamu.edu

Suhas Babu
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Lih Kuo
suhastamu@tamu.edu
 

Valorie Chiasson, BS
Research Associate
Supervisor: Dr. Brett Mitchell
vchiasson@tamu.edu

Jonathan Childs
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
jonathanchilds@tamu.edu

Caroline Cushman
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Carl Tong
carolinejenc@tamu.edu
 

Patrick DeSpain
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Xu Peng
patrickdespain@tamu.edu

Kevin W. Foskett, BS
End User Support Specialist III
Supervisor: Dr. David Zawieja
kfoskett@tamu.edu

Bethany Goodlett, BS
Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Brett Mitchell
bethany-goodlett@tamu.edu

Janith Halpage, BS
Research Associate
Supervisor: Dr. Xu Peng
 
Morgan Jackson, BS
Technician II
Supervisor: Dr. David Zawieja
mjackson7469@tamu.edu
 

Kaitlyn Kelly
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Carl Tong
kaitlynkelly@tamu.edu

Jacob Kuempel
Technician I
Supervisor: Dr. Xu Peng
jacobkuempel@tamu.edu

Matthew Lopez
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
lopezmat792@tamu.edu

Abby Leatherman
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Carl Tong 
abbykleath@tamu.edu

Ashleigh Little
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
ael5938@tamu.edu

Lilly McAlister, BS
Research Associate
Supervisor: Dr. Carl Tong
lilly.mcalister@tamu.edu

Malea Murphy, PhD 
Research Specialist II 
Supervisor: Dr. Andreea Trache 
maleamurphy@tamu.edu

Abigail Medford
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
aom387@tamu.edu  

Akshaya Narayanan
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Mariappan Muthuchamy
akshaya.narayanan@tamu.edu

Samuel V. Padgham, AAS, AA
Technician III 
Supervisor: Dr. Andreea Trache
svpadgham@tamu.edu

Yi Ren, PhD
Senior Research Associate
Supervisor: Dr. Travis W. Hein
yren@tamu.edu

Andrea Reyna, BS
Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Joseph Rutkowski
areyna94@tamu.edu

Sean Reilly
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Carl Tong
sreilly01@tamu.edu

Rohan Sami
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Carl Tong
rohansami@tamu.edu
 

Danaleigh Stiles
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
stiles2023@tamu.edu

Brittany Tate
Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Joseph Rutkowski
b.l.tate2022@tamu.edu

Brooke Wilcox
Research Assistant 
Supervisor: Dr. Brett Mitchell 
brookewilcox23@tamu.edu

Tori White
Technician III 
Supervisor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
tkshepperd@tamu.edu

Xin Xu, MD, DVM
Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Lih Kuo
netxin@tamu.edu

Joseph Yelverton
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Andreea Trache
maxyelverton@tamu.edu

Jack Zamen
Student Research Assistant
Supervisor: Dr. Andreea Trache
jzamen18@tamu.edu

Graduate Students

Cristina Arenaz, MS
Texas A&M University
Mentor: Dr. Brett Mitchell
carenaz3@exchange.tamu.edu
 

Heidi Creed, BS
University of Washington
Mentor: Dr. Joseph Rutkowski
hcreed@tamu.edu

Justin McDermott, MPH
University of Utah
Mentor: Dr. Brett Mitchell
jgmrex@tamu.edu

Thien Phan, BS
University of Mary Washington, Virginia
Mentor: Dr. Joseph Rutkowski
ttphan@tamu.edu

Sukanya Roy, MS
University of Calcutta, India
Mentor: Dr. Sanjukta Chakraborty
 
Hannah Smith, BS
Montana State University
Mentor: Dr. Brett Mitchell
hannahsmith@tamu.edu
 

Yu Xi, MS
Zhejiang University, China
Mentor: Dr. Xu Peng
xiyuzj@tamu.edu

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Shobana Balakrishnan, PhD
University of Madras, India
Mentor: Dr. Brett Mitchell
navshobi27@tamu.edu

Priyanka Banerjee, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Mentor: Dr. Sanjukta Chakraborty
pbanerjee@exchange.tamu.edu

April O'Brien, PhD
Texas A&M University
Mentor: Dr. Shannon Glaser
aprilobrien@tamu.edu

Vincent Ohaju, MD
University of Medicine and Health Sciences
Mentor: Dr. Carl Tong
vohaju@tamu.edu
 
Krishna R. Ojha, PhD
The University of Akron, Ohio
Mentor: Dr. Andreea Trache