skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Principal Faculty

Hubert Amrein, PhD
Professor, Senior Associate Dean of Research
Sensory perception of external chemical world; Molecular/neural basis of sugar and amino acid perception

Vytas Bankaitis, PhD
Professor and Wehner-Welch Foundation Chair in Chemistry
Cellular functions and novel lipid-mediated signal transduction pathways

Kayla Bayless, PhD
Associate Professor
How human endothelial cells, which line interior surface of blood vessels, invade into 3D matrices

Sarah Bondos, PhD
Associate Professor
Tissue-specific regulation of protein function; Functionalizable protein-based materials

Allison C. Rice-Ficht, PhD
Regent Professor
Senior Associate Dean for Research, Medicine
Director of the Center for Microencapsulation and Drug Delivery
Using biomaterials for controlled release of live and subunit vaccines

Carl Gregory, PhD
Associate Professor, Institute of Regenerative Medicine
Biology of mesenchymal stem cells and their relation to bone healing

Geoffrey Kapler, PhD
Professor
Replication and transmission of eukaryotic chromosomes

Jason Karpac, PhD
Associate Professor
Origins of adaptive signaling networks that shape metabolic flexibility and aging

Ryang-Hwa Lee, PhD
Associate Professor, Institute of Regenerative Medicine
Cellular and molecular mechanisms of therapeutic effects of mesenchymal stem cells

Fei Liu, PhD
Associate Professor, Institute of Regenerative Medicine
Mesenchymal stem cells' roles in growth and metastasis of cancer; Application of MSCs for cancer treatment

Steve Maxwell, PhD
Associate Professor
Cancer; Oncogenes; Tumor suppressor; Genes programmed cell death (apoptosis); Chemoresistance; and Angiogenesis

Siegfried Musser, PhD
Professor
Protein Targeting and Translocation into Membrane-bound and Membrane-less Compartments

Ashok K. Shetty, PhD
Professor, Associate Director, Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Enhancing brain function after injury, disease or aging

Irtisha Singh, PhD
Assistant Professor
Computational Biology, Genomics, Epigenetics, Machine Learning, Bioinformatics

Raquel Sitcheran, PhD
Associate Professor
NF-B (nuclear factor kappa-light-chain-enhancer of activated B cells) proteins role in regulating cancer cell behavior

David Threadgill, PhD
Professor, The Tom and Jean McMullin Chair of Genetics,
Director of the Texas A&M Institute for Genome Sciences and Society
Cancer genetics; Epidermal growth factor receptor; Environmental response genetics; and Systems genetics resources

Gregg B. Wells, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Role of protein structure in diseases

Robin Fuchs-Young, PhD
Professor
Institute for Biosciences and Technology
Basic mechanisms of breast carcinogenesis

 

Joint Faculty Appointments

Angela Arenas-Gamboa, DVM, PhD, DACVP
Assistant Professor
Vaccine development against select agents

Scott Dindot, PhD
Assistant Professor
Epigenetic and genetic mechanisms of phenotypic variation and disease

L. Rene Garcia, PhD
Associate Professor
Chemo/mechano-sensory and motor outputs changes under various physiological conditions

Wenshe Liu, PhD
Professor
Understanding of the epigenetic chromatin regulation and the development of therapeutics that target chromatin epigenetics

Josh Wand, PhD
Professor

Research Faculty

Andrew Hillhouse, PhD
Research Assistant Professor

Tetsuya Miyamoto, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Neuroscience

Deborah Threadgill, PhD
Research Assistant Professor

Zhigang Xie, PhD
Research Associate Professor
Molecular/cellular mechanisms regulating neural stem cell homeostasis in development and cancer

 

Instructional Track Faculty

Kamlesh K Yadav , MTech, PhD
Instructional Associate professor

Emeritus Faculty

Arthur E. Johnson, PhD
Regents Professor Emeritus

C. Nick Pace, PhD
Distinguished Professor
Regents Professor
McMullin Professor of Genetics
Protein solubility, stability, and folding

Darwin J. Prockop, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Director of Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Mesenchymal stem cells' therapeutic benefits for brain injury, epilepsy, diabetes and Alzheimer's disease

J. Martin Scholtz, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Executive Associate Vice President for Research
Protein folding and misfolding using biophysical techniques

 

Research Staff

Abbey, Colette
abbey@medicine.tamu.edu
Research Associate
4403C MREB
979.436.0761

Ahn, Ji-Eun
ahn@medicine.tamu.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
4403C MREB
979.436.0802

Attaluri, Sahithi, MPharm
attaluri@medicine.tamu.edu
Research Assistant
243 Reynolds Medical Bldg.

Bing, Shuai, MD
shuai@medicine.tamu.edu
Senior Research Associate
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9656

Cuomo, Danila
cuomo@medicine.tamu.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Dave, Sandeep, PhD
dave@medicine.tamu.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
448 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0861

Fujii, Shinsuke, PhD
fujii@medicine.tamu.edu
Research Scientist
4350 MREB
979.436.0798

Gonzalez, Alejandra
alejandragonzalez@tamu.edu
Research Associate
4353C MREB 2

Grabon, Aby
abygrabon@gmail.com
Postdoctoral Research Associate
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Kodali, Maheedhar, PhD
kodali@medicine.tamu.edu
Research Scientist
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9657

Lee, Dong, PhD
dwlee@medicine.tamu.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
4353F MREB
979.436.0748

Xiaotong Li, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate
4353D MREB 2
979.436.0766

Madhu, Leelavathi Narayana, PhD
madhu@medicine.tamu.edu
Research Scientist
240 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9660

McDermott, Mark, PhD
mcdermott@medicine.tamu.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Miyamoto, Chika
cmiyamoto@medicine.tamu.edu
Research Associate
4353C MREB
979.436.0802

Mlih, Mohammed, PhD
mlih@medicine.tamu.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
4353D MREB
979.436.0766

Person, Alexandra
aperson@medicine.tamu.edu
Research Associate
204 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0779

Pflug, Kathryn (Casey)
pflug@tamu.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
4353D MREB 2
979.436.0748

Rao, Xiaolan, BA
rao@medicine.tamu.edu
Research Assistant
224 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9656

Rashmi, Richa
Richa.rashmi.1202@tamu.edu
Research Associate
4353C MREB 2
979.436.9293

Waghu, Faiza Mohammed Hanif
faiza07@tamu.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
4353C MREB 2
979.436.9293

Zhao, Qingguo, PhD
qzhao@tamu.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
242A Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436-0766 

Graduate Research Assistants

Arabiotorre Duran, Angela
arabiotorreduran@medicine.tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
116 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0756

Haskell, Andrew
haskell@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
426 Reynolds Bldg.
979.436.9652

Salvador, Anna
annacsalvadr@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852

Sheida Hedjazi
Sheida.hedjazi@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
4353C MREB 2

Salvador, Anna
annacsalvadr@tamu.edu
Graduate Assistant-Research
428 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0852 

Staff

Perkkio, Crystal
cperkkio@tamu.edu
Senior Administrative Coordinator
4209 Medical Research Education Building II
979.436.0856

Eubanks-Garcia, Lisa
leubanks@tamu.edu
Business Administrator I
4209 Medical Research Education Building II
979.436.0855

Garcia, Cynthia
cynthiag@tamu.edu
Business Administrator I
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.0509

Griffin, Amy
agriffin@tamu.edu
Business Coordinator I
4209 Medical Research Education Building II
979.436.0854

Carson Barreiro
Carson_b@tamu.edu
Student Worker
228 Reynolds Medical Bldg.
979.436.9682