skip to main content

Graduate Student Organization


The goal of the Texas A&M College of Medicine Graduate Student Organization (GSO) is to encourage student participation in the affairs of the College of Medicine, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the Texas A&M University Health Science Center, and Texas A&M University, thus enhancing the quality and scope of graduate research education. The GSO shall also promote communication between the administration, system schools, and student body.

Purpose of the GSO

The purpose of this organization in achieving the aforementioned mission shall be:

  • To serve as the voice of the graduate student body of the College of Medicine.
  • To prepare, coordinate and execute an annual Texas A&M Health Science Center Graduate Student Research Symposium.
  • To interact with faculty and representatives of the other branches of the health science center to optimize graduate student participation in the annual health science center Graduate Student Research Symposium.
  • To ensure the maintenance of open lines of communication between graduate students, administration and faculty.
  • To further the careers and intellectual development of the graduate student body.


GSO Newsletters Archive is available on College of Medicine Intranet.

Robert and Anabelle Bruce Travel Award


The Robert and Anabelle Bruce Travel Award was established in the spirit of both recognizing outstanding work by the Texas A&M University Health Science Center (TAMUHSC) College of Medicine (COM) students and contributing to their professional development. The purpose of the Robert and Anabelle Bruce Travel Award is to promote the attendance of TAMUHSC COM graduate and professional students at scientific meetings by providing them with financial aid.

Award Details

Award Types and Amounts:
Eight (8) awards will be distributed yearly. Four (4) Awards of up to $500 will be dispersed in the fall and spring semester of each academic year.
Award Uses:
Awards may only be used for expenses related to travel to the scientific conference. This may include accommodations, transportation, registration fees, and poster printing. Funds may not be used for expenses unrelated to travel or to pay society dues. Funds will not be disbursed until after attendance at the conference.
Eligibility: Any degree-seeking student in good academic standing enrolled in a Medical Science Graduate Program (including MS, MD/PhD and PhD programs) and presenting as a first author/speaker at a conference is eligible to apply for this travel award.

Due Dates and Rules

The fall semester application due date will be August 31st and the spring semester due date will be January 31st. The application process will close at 11:59 PM on both dates. Only abstracts accepted to present at a scientific conference are eligible for this award; in addition, acceptance letter/email, CV of the applicant must also be submitted.

Contact Information

Committee Chair: Linjie Luo

Round Table

We're hosting Dr. Melissa Passino, Medical Science Liaison at Sanofi Genzyme.

When: August 28th from 12:30-1:30.


2020-2021 GSO Officers

  • President: Alexandra Powell
  • Vice President: Lauren Farris Vitek
  • Treasurer: Yumna El-Hakim
  • Secretary: Heidi Creed
  • Media Officer: Amanda Essoh
  • Community Outreach Representative: Justin McDermott
  • GPC/GIC Representatives: Tori Dunlap Justin Keeney
  • GPSG Representatives: Ankith Sharma, Yumna El-Hakim
  • Divesrity and Inclusion Representatives: Sara Zarate, Heidi Creed
  • LEEC Representatives: Tori Dunlap, Bhagath Chirra


Graduate School Potluck

Are you famous for your 3 layer nacho dip? Well this is the time to show off your cooking skills and mingle with your fellow graduate students! There will be lots of food. RSVP here

When: November 15th, 2019 @7PM

GSO Roundtable

Hear from the research being conducted by your peers. WE highly encourage those that are in their second year at least to participate in this Fast Talk. It will be a great opportunity for you to practice speaking about your research and show off your research skills.

When: November 15th, 2019 @12PM

Graduate Student Flash Talk Competition

We will be having our annual Graduate Student Flash Talk Competition! All 2nd years and above are welcome and encouraged to participate! The rules will be as follows:

  • 2nd Year Grad Students and above
  • 3 minutes to talk about your thesis, 1-2 min of questions to follow
  • You will have a maximum of 1 slide to present your research/aid in your presentation (with no animations)
  • Due to limited spots (8-9 max), please submit your abstract to our wonderful vice president, Jian Wang (
  • Abstracts should be around 250 words and will be judged on criteria, methods, writing, etc.
  • Winner will be decided by real-time popular vote and win a prize worth $80.