skip to main content

Core Advisors

Core Advisors for Careers in Medicine

Texas A&M College of Medicine Core Advisors for all specialties are available to discuss any questions you may have about a specialty you are interested in or any other specialty you are considering.

The specific duties of a core advisor are:

  • Serve as a resource to answer questions about getting into that specific specialty
  • From M1-M3’s from any campus
  • Most communications will be via email. A phone call or in person visit may be arranged if advisor wishes.
  • Second opinion source for M3’s and M4’s regarding their specialty
  • Field questions from specialty-specific advisors regarding difficult or unusual situations.
  • Some core advisors may elect to serve as specialty specific advisor as well. In about February of year 3, students will be assigned a personal specialty specific advisor based on their specialty of choice.

At any time during medical school, if a student has questions about a specific specialty, questions may be directed to campus Student Affairs Deans or email questions to one of the Core Advisors. The list of Core Advisors’ specialties, names and emails are listed below.

Clint Tippett, MD

Anesthesiology
jason.tippett@BSWHealth.org

Katie Fiala, MD

Dermatology
Katherine.fiala@BSWHealth.org

Scott Wieters, MD

Emergency Medicine 
wieters@medicine.tamu.edu

Dorian Drigalla, MD

dorian.drigalla@BSWHealth.org

Trey Hill, MD

ENT, Otolaryngology
gerhard.hilliii@BSWHealth.org

David Clark, MD

david.clark1@BSWHealth.org

John Manning, MD

Family Medicine
john.manning@bswhealth.org

Rachael Evans, MD

drrachaelevans@gmail.com

Scott Thomas, MD

General Surgery
Scott.Thomas@BSWHealth.org

Geoffrey Funk, MD

gafunkmd@me.com

Austin Metting, MD

Internal Medicine
austin.metting@bswhealth.org

Doug McDonald, MD

Interventional Radiology
douglas.mcdonald@bswhealth.org

Tresa McNeal, MD

Med Peds
McNeal@medicine.tamu.edu

Jeff Clark, DO

Neurology
jeffrey.clark@bswhealth.org

Jason Huang, MD

Neurosurgery
Jason.Huang@bswhealth.org

L. Gerard Toussaint, MD

lgtoussaint@txbsi.com

Chris Birkholz, MD

Obstetrics/Gynecology
christopher.birkholz@bswhealth.org

Adrianne Browning, MD

adriannebrowning@gmail.com

Kenneth Lao, MD

Ophthalmology
kenneth.lao@bswhealth.org

Doug Fornfeist, MD

Orthopedics
douglas.fornfeist@bswhealth.org

Russell Ward, MD

russell.ward@bswhealth.org

Joseph Guileyardo, MD

joseph.guileyardo@bswhealth.org

Myron Rosen, MD

myron.rosen@bswhealth.org

Christopher Hovland, MD

Pediatric
Christopher.Hovland@BSWHealth.org

James Albers, MD

Physical Medicine/ Rehabilitation
james.albers@bswhealth.org

Amy Wilson, MD

amy.wilson2@bswhealth.org

Helen Patel, MD

helen.patel@bswhealth.org

Wendy Czerwinski, MD

Plastic Surgery
wendy.czerwinski@bswhealth.org

Maxanne Flores, MD

Psychiatry
virginia.flores@bswhealth.org

Sameer Jhavar, MD, PhD

Radiation Oncology
Sameer.jhavar@bswhealth.org

James Schnitker, MD

Radiology
james.schnitker@bswhealth.org

Anastacio Saenz, MD

anastacio.saenzjr@bswhealth.org

Umesh Oza, MD

uoza@americanrad.com

Patrick Lowry, MD

Urology
Patrick.lowry@bswhealth.org

David Dawson, MD

Vascular Surgery
david.dawson@bswhealth.org