skip to main content

SHIFT Competition

SHIFT - Texas Health Challenges Case Competition

Improving Healthcare Delivery to Rural Texas

Texas A&M University Health Science Center - Health Professionals Education Building
8447 Riverside Parkway, Bryan, TX 77807

214.335.0932 |


The Texas A&M University College of Medicine presents: SHIFT 2019 - Texas Health Challenges Case Competition. The two-day contest is designed to help students from Texas medical schools gain experience working in collaborative teams to design innovative solutions to address major health care issues affecting the state of Texas.

The SHIFT Case Competition serves as practice-based learning activity that provides participants with an opportunity to enhance competency as well as explore novel approaches to delivering care to underserved populations within Texas.

Over the course of the two-day competition, students from Texas medical schools will review case studies that illustrate rural health care shortcomings in Texas. The competition will challenge students to develop strategies that will improve the state's rural health care.

The Issue

Texans living in rural areas have limited access to adequate health care services. These ongoing challenges must be addressed by today's medical professionals and by the medical professionals of the future.

  • 35 counties in Texas have no doctor
  • 25 percent of Texans under 65 living in rural areas have no health insurance
  • There is a 24 percent higher death rate due to heart disease among rural Texans than the national average
  • Texas earned a grade of D- on the 2018 National Rural Healthcare report card

Rural Population Health

True to our land-grant designation, we have the responsibility to improve lives by transforming health care and health care delivery with forward-thinking research and service. In the United States, and particularly in Texas, there is great room for improvement. Rural populations, especially along the border with Mexico, are home to some of the world's greatest health disparities. See what we're doing to bring health care where it's needed most and how this priority has benefits that reverberate around the world.

SHIFT Committee

The SHIFT Committee is a four-member panel of Texas A&M medical students (Jared Laney, Thomas DowlearnRhett Butler and Astha Mittal) dedicated to addressing major issues in health care through a grass-roots approach. Their core belief is that the best chance to change health care in sustainable ways is to inspire medical students to recognize problems, to dream solutions and to believe those dreams are possible.


Romeo Bachand, Jr, MD, PhD, FACCP
Medical Director - Ruth's Place Clinic
Internal Medicine Physician
Retired Lt. Colonel in the US Air Force (Flight Surgeon)

Lieutenant General Mark Ediger, MD, MPH
Retired US Airforce Surgeon General
Family Medicine Physician

Rep. Evelina Ortega
Texas House Member
District 77

Rep. Nicole Collier
Texas House Member
District 95

Mary Kirkendall, MD
Medical Director of BCFS
Baylor College of Medicine Faculty at Children's Hospital of San Antonio
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Physician

SHIFT 2019 Teams

  • Baylor College of Medicine School of Medicine
  • Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine
  • Texas A&M University College of Medicine
  • Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Paul L. Foster School of Medicine
  • University of North Texas Health Science Center Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • The University of Texas Dell Medical School
  • The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine
  • The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine
  • UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • The University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine

Shift 2018 Winning Teams

University of North Texas Health Science Center

Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
Derek Christensen, Colleen Del Valle, Emily Nelson, Emily Tutt, Tyler Ulmer
Presentation (PPT)

Texas Tech University Health Science Center El Paso

Paul L. Foster School of Medicine
Brittany Harper, Roxann Lerma, Brandy Mills, Alexandra Palmer, Jacob Winters

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Van Dang, Jordan Hoese, Maggie Leland, Emily Lukose