skip to main content

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

  • 2020-2021 Chair: José Flórez-Arango, MD, PhD
  • 2020-2021 Vice Chair: Don Daniels, MD
  • 2020-2021 Vice Chair: Amy Wright, EdD
  • Committee Staff Support: Letitia Hooks


The primary function of the Committee is to promote the D&I vision and mission of the College of Medicine as stated in the D&I statement. The committee supports the ODI in its functions, including but not limited to:

  • Develop policies for, and promote the recruitment, inclusion, engagement, retention, and progression of a diverse pool of medical and postgraduate students, staff, and faculty that is representative of our diversity categories
  • Promote all pipeline programs for faculty, staff, and student diversity
  • Organize and participate in seminar, workshop, and symposia series that promote D&I
  • Promote D&I scholarship, including attracting external grants
  • Monitor regularly the D&I climate of the College of Medicine
  • Collaborate with other TAMU-based D&I interest groups
  • Promote and facilitate the attainment of excellence in all things at the College of Medicine, including teaching, research, and service.