skip to main content

LCME Accreditation


Teresa Isbell, PhD
Assistant Dean of Educational Quality Improvement
Phone: 979.436.0278

Kimberly Meschke, MEd
Director of Educational Quality Improvement
Phone: 979.436.0759


Destiny Startz, MBA
Program Coordinator of Continuous Quality Improvement
Phone: 979.436.0240

LCME Accreditation

The Office of Continuous Quality Improvement (OCQI) leads continuous quality improvement initiatives, including the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) accreditation process. OEQI develops and maintains a systematic schedule for reviewing and monitoring LCME elements, which includes a formal review process.

Elements are reviewed to:

  • Meet explicit requirements for monitoring or involve a regularly-occurring process.
  • Reflect new or revised changes in LCME expectations related to performance in elements.
  • Ensure that policies are congruent with current operations.
  • Follow up on citations from previous full survey.
  • Meet alignment as identified through program evaluation processes, the Curriculum Committee, or MED leadership.

The Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) accredits medical education programs that offer the MD degree in the United States and Canada. Accreditation by LCME is a voluntary, peer-reviewed process of quality assurance. To achieve and maintain accreditation, a medical education program must meet the following 12 LCME accreditation standards, which are listed in greater detail on the LCME official website.

LCME Standards description below
  1. Standard 1: Mission, Planning, Organization and Integrity
  2. Standard 2: Leadership and Administration
  3. Standard 3: Academic and Learning Environment
  4. Standard 4: Faculty, Preparation, Productivity, Participation, and Policies
  5. Standard 5: Educational Resources and Infrastructure
  6. Standard 6: Competencies, Curricular Objectives, and Curricular Design
  7. Standard 7: Curricular Content
  8. Standard 8: Curricular Management, Evaluation and Enhancement
  9. Standard 9: Teaching, Supervision, Assessment, and Student and Patient Safety
  10. Standard 10: Medical Student Selection, Assignment, and Progress
  11. Standard 11: Medical Student Academic Support, Career Advising, and Academic Records
  12. Standard 12: Medical Student Health Services, Personal Counseling, and Financial Aid Services

To view more information specific to the LCME Accreditation visit for Texas A&M School of Medicine, please visit the LCME Accreditation page.